How to get you kids to eat legumes and like it

We all want our kids to make wise and healthy choices when it comes to their diet. Not all of us have been blessed with kids with an adventurous palate, on the contrary, some deals with picky eaters on a daily basis. I never been a big fan the whole, hiding vegetables into other food so that your kids won’t know it’s there, trend. I am in the opinion that kids should know what they are eating in order to have the opportunity to learn and get a taste of all the different types food.

With that said, I am not against trying new ways to prepare, fruits, vegetables and even legumes. I remember eating a Mooncake in a Chinese restaurant,a long time ago. When I asked what was the delicious sweet paste filling, I was surprised to hear that it was beans! If my memory serves be right is was a red paste bean and I think adzuki beans was used, since then they have been on my mind from time to time.

This was my inspiration in creating little bites of that beans paste as a healthy treats for my kids. They eat them without complaints and had no clue it was made with beans. After I told them about the secret ingredient, they still asked for more. I call that a success.

Healthy beans and pecan bites

And so begun my attempt to replicate that yummy bean paste that I remembered. I did not have aszuki beans on hand but did have plenty of Mung beans.  Of course I first thing I did was to turn to the internet, the source infinite knowledge, trying to find a half decent mung beans cake filling paste recipe. I came across many recipes and some had weird ingredient like lye water, what in the world is lye water. After about an hours of reading, I decided to use this recipe as guide to create my own version of bean paste sweet treat.

Healthy beans bites

The basis of this recipe is cooked beans, some form of fat, sweeter and liquid, simple enough, right? If you want to save yourself some time cooking the beans a soaking time overnight or 3 to 6 hours will speed the whole process. Add off the ingredients in a food processor, make a puree and then cook it until it’s transform into a sticky paste. Shape and voilà.

Now for the fun part, use the basic recipe and make it your own, adding flavors and textures. I worked on three different combination, two turn out very good the other, well I won’t be blogging about that one. My favorite was beans, oats and brown sugar combo but the girls like the Maple syrup, pecan and spiced beans treat better. I’ll be sharing both here today and my ideas of other flavor combination that I want to try in the future.

Maple Pecan healthy bites

Spiced Maple Pecan mung bean bites

ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of pecan, chopped
  • 1 cup of cooked mung beans
  • 2 tbsp butter (or coconut oil )
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup of coconut milk
  • pinch of salt

mung beans oats bites

Mung Beans and oats bites

ingredients

  • 1/3 cup of sugar
  • 1 cup of cooked mung beans
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup of coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup quick oats
  • pinch of salt

Method (same for both Maple and oat bites recipes)

Soak the beans overnight, rinse well and cook for about 30 minutes or until soft. In the food processor add all the ingredient and blend until a soft puree. Don’t worry in the mixture is too liquid, cooking will evaporate the excess. Cook the puree in a pot on medium heat, and stir stir stir. Cook until the mixture start to form a soft ball and is no longer sticking to the bottom and side of the pot.

Let it cool down until lukewarm and start forming balls. Optional, you can roll your little bites in nuts, seeds or coconut  whatever you have on hand. I recommend to store those little sweet bites on the fridge up to 1 week.

maple pecan bites

I did say I was thinking of other flavor combinations, I think that pistachio and rose-water and  honey and sesame seeds would be lovely. How about you, what do you think a good flavor combination would be? Share in the comment below.

6 thoughts on “How to get you kids to eat legumes and like it

Leave a Reply

