Basic Amish White Bread

We all have our unique special skills in the kitchen. For some they can whipped up a cake with their eyes closes. For others, they can make any type of soups from scratches and it always turns out amazing. We all have those few things that we ca do and we know we can do well, but what about the things we avoid, those skills that we aren’t excelling at?

My kitchen nemesis for the longest time were, bread and pie making. Really I shed many tears over flop baked goods. For a while I even avoided baking altogether for fear of failing. Now fifteen years after my first attempt of bread making, here I am again. After much research, trial and error and yet again a few tears, I think I finally have victory into accomplishing a moist white bread.

I used this basic Amish Bread recipe and did my own modifications. But before I jump right in how to bake this delicious easy bread, I want to share what I have learned.

Are you ready for this? I can’t follow a recipe and have it come out. I mean every single time I tried to follow the instructions for any bread recipe I always failed. I made sure the house was in proper temperature, that the water was the exact temperature suggested and even used a scale for all my ingredients. Nothing worked. Now tell me I am not alone who has experience that?

My conclusion is, bread making is easier learned by seeing someone else doing it, by touching and feeling the right textures, but if you’re like me and don’t have time to have someone show the technique, learning the science behind the process might be of help.

Amish white bread

Since I can’t be in your kitchen showing you how to make this bread, I’ll do my best to explain how I made mine.

What you will need (makes 2 loaf)

  • 2 cup of warm water
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp instant dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 6 cups flour

Amish bread

Method

  1. Measure the warm water (should be as hot was you would feel comfortable washing your hands in it, no need of a thermometer here) in a large bowl add half of the flour, sugar, dry yeast, salt and mix all in. With your mixer hook attachment over low-speed add the water and oil little by little until all the liquids are in. Now this is the tricky part, add just enough flour for the dough to no longer stick to the side of the bowl but isn’t to dry to the touch, there should be a bit of stickiness left.  Knead for 5 minutes.
  2. Because we are using instant dry yeast we shouldn’t need to do two rising period but I still do it keeping in mind that the rising period will be really short. Transfer the dough in a greased bowl and cover with a warm wet towel for about 30 min or until double the size and when you insert two fingers they leave indentations behind. Punch the dough down, divide into two and shape loaf. Place into well-greased 9X5 inch bread pans, let rise again for about 20 to 30 min. Set the oven at 400 degrees
  3. Bake for 30 minutes
  4. Cool on a rack for at least 1 hour before slicing.

Amish bread

Tips : Bread making troubleshooting

4 thoughts on “Basic Amish White Bread

Leave a Reply

